Sign Up

Keep in touch with us. There are always new and exciting things to see and do at Chester Cathedral, sign up here and we’ll keep you updated.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Bible Talks

icon-chester-cathedral-bible-talk

Bible Talk Lecture Series: Autumn 2017

Cloister Room | 1.10pm until 2.00pm

Being Disciples

This series of lectures focuses on the book: “Being Disciples” by Lord Rowan Williams

(available for purchase or to order from the Cathedral shop)

Wednesday 13 September

Being Disciples – Rev. Denise Williams (Priest vicar at Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 20 September

Faith, hope and love – Rev. Canon Dr Barry Wilson (Vice Dean at Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 27 September

Forgiveness – Mr Chris Jones (Cathedral Constable at Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 4 October

Holiness – Rev. Canon Jeremy Dussek (Canon Precentor at Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 11 October

NO BIBLE TALK

Wednesday 18 October

Faith in Society- Rev. Dr Mike Kirby (Priest – Vicar at Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 25 October

Life in the Spirit – The Venerable Ian Bishop  (Archdeacon of Macclesfield)

 

Bible Talk Lecture Series: Spring 2018

Cloister Room | 1.10pm until 2.00pm

Being Disciples

This series of talks marks the 150th anniversary of the first year of Dean John Saul Howson in Chester (1867-85).  He was responsible for commissioning the reordering and refurbishment of the cathedral much as you see it today.  During his time the mosaics were installed and most of the talks will take them as a starting point.  The Cathedral Library exhibition for 2018 is on John Howson.  Visits will be possible after some of the talks or at other times by arrangement.

Wednesday 14 February

The Moses Mosaic – Dr Trevor Dennis (Chester Cathedral)

Wednesday 21 February

The Ely’s Refectory Tapestry – Professor Loveday Alexander (University of Salford)

Wednesday 28 February

Visualising the Sacrifice of Isaac – Professor Philip Alexander (University of Manchester)

Wednesday 7 March

Melchizedek the Priest-King and Christian Worship – Professor William Horbury (University of Cambridge)

Wednesday 14 March

No Bible Talk

Wednesday 21 March

The David Mosaics – Professor George Brooke (University of Manchester)

Wednesday 28 March

The Erasmus Chapel Mosaics – Dr Michael Gilbertson (Archdeaconry of Chester)

To be added to the Bible Talk mailing list, contact Helen Barber:

Education Officer | (01244) 500957 | helen.barber@chestercathedral.com